Brisket help

Rickg3669

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Pro select
From what I’ve read my brisket has stalled at 155 . I let it continue to cook for about an hour than took out wrapped in butcher paper and still at 155. Any tips to get it going

did you raise temp after the stall?

Interesting.....I've never done a brisket as I'm also new to Traeger. How long has it been? My understanding is that for a brisket a lengthy stall isn't uncommon. I've read you can help beat it by adding a pan of water for moisture.

The increase from 225 to 250 really isn't "that" great IMO. Are you using the Trager ambient probe? If so you may not even have the temp much higher than your desired finished temp.....so it'll take awhile.

I'm going to stop typing now though and let some experienced people take over.

From what I’ve read my brisket has stalled at 155 . I let it continue to cook for about an hour than took out wrapped in butcher paper and still at 155. Any tips to get it going
Patience….👍
What is the true ambient temp of your grill? Depending on the size of your brisket, you could be looking at 4-6 hours after you wrap
Planning on a midnight meal?? 😬

you can leave it at 250° and wait, don't open the grill or take the meat out again... when you remove meat "during" the stall you just made the wait longer...

Don't touch nothing till that meat is 200° IT

Interesting.....I've never done a brisket as I'm also new to Traeger. How long has it been? My understanding is that for a brisket a lengthy stall isn't uncommon. I've read you can help beat it by adding a pan of water for moisture.
More moisture wouldn’t help the stall, but might make it worse. The stall is caused by moisture evaporating from the meat, causing evaporative cooling. Once the meat reaches a certain temp (around 150) the fibers contract forcing the moisture to the surface, cooling the meat.