Temperature Difference Actual vs. Display

SmokerBoy

Reaction score
Grill
Century 885
I have an almost new Century 885 and the difference between the actual temperature in the grill (oven thermometer) and what is showing on the display is way off. A temperature setting of 400 yields an internal temp of 305 at best. The higher I set the temperature it seems the larger the discrepancy. At a 475 setting I'm barely getting 375. Testing the ambient temperature readings everything looks correct. Anyone seen something like this before? I may have bought a lemon.

New to Traeger. Nothing we have cooked turned out juicey except chicken.. I follow the receipes to a tee an temps and probe temps never match up. Dissapointed.. Did ribs last weekend 250 degrees for six hours as per recipe. After six hrs probe temp was 135 raw pork.. Cranked up heat, not impressed with turn out

I’ve been using Traeger for many years and I had just swapped out my old reliable, accurate Big Tex for this new Century. Disappointed. It’s really a step backward. Nice new technology but the real test is in the food.

I have the same problem on a new Ironwood 885. Have you gotten anywhere with Traeger support?

I have the same problem on a new Ironwood 885. Have you gotten anywhere with Traeger support?
I haven't made any progress. I called tech support and they sent me a new temperature monitor probe but it hasn't made any difference. I think the problem is in the computer itself. I'm going to contact tech support again and see if there is a way to calibrate the computer to the probe. My max temp in the grill is 400 because the grill won't set higher than 500.

Thanks, I did the thermocouple replacement also, no change. Your temp problem is about the same as mine.