My 1st pulled pork was not well received

Deweybeck

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Traeger pro 34
I am new to Traeger and smoking. I made my first pulled today. My wife’s favorite pulled pork is from a restaurant called bandannas. I followed the Traeger app recipe and it was very tender, the bone pulled right out but she was disappointed and said it tasted more like a roast but not as good as the restaurants. Any ideas what they might do differently or any tips? Remember I am new to all this so I may not know all the “lingo”. Thanks

Attachments

• B5AA1AA6-1196-40AD-9850-7286FF3BBC6F.jpeg
    B5AA1AA6-1196-40AD-9850-7286FF3BBC6F.jpeg
    288.4 KB · Views: 120
  • B081DA44-8F52-48DA-A0E9-D1E0864DFF43.jpeg
    B081DA44-8F52-48DA-A0E9-D1E0864DFF43.jpeg
    276.6 KB · Views: 35
  • F1D591AA-4039-4E8F-8EE6-3DCB0AD18C25.jpeg
    F1D591AA-4039-4E8F-8EE6-3DCB0AD18C25.jpeg
    273.6 KB · Views: 40
  • 89E1BE1D-7805-4F79-94B0-B3C0CFEDBE56.jpeg
    89E1BE1D-7805-4F79-94B0-B3C0CFEDBE56.jpeg
    267.2 KB · Views: 37
Did you do a 2 hour foil wrapped REST after you took the meat out once it hit 201° internal temp???
2 hours, wrapped in foil, wrapped in a towel, and into an empty cooler... don't touch it till you wanna 'pull' it.

The only other thing it could be is the sauce or your rub.

I also use a finishing sauce:

A FINISHING SAUCE!!!! that takes care of all your juicy meat needs the 'day of"!!!
Per/10lb butt
1 Cup Cider Vinegar
3 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
1 good squirt of Ketchup
1 Teaspoon Course Black Pepper
1 Teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes

Warm the Vinegar up enough so that it dissolves the Sugar well. Then add the remaining ingredients.

Randomly squirt this over warm freshly pulled Pork, then kind of mix it up with gloved hands. This adds very little heat (despite the Red Pepper) and mellows out the stronger, gamier parts of the Shoulder. The Vinegar also helps break it down even more for some REAL juicy pork.