Internal Temp and probe temp off by 30 to 40 degrees

cabchop

Reaction score
Grill
Traeger 575 Pro
Hello all.

I appreciate any feedback or assistance as I am a rookie with the Traeger 575. The main issue I am having is with the internal temperature. I set the grill to 225 and placed a brisket on the grill. Four hours later I put in a "Metear probe" to check the temp of the meat. The meater probe also displays the ambient (grill) temperature. I was amazed at the variance. The meter was showing 180 as the ambient/grill temperature. I left the meater probe in the brisket (lid closed) for three more hours and the variance was the same. I have used this meater in an oven, with a propane grill and it does a great job of providing a very accurate ambient temperature.

I turned the heat up to 275 with the metear still in the brisket. It is showing the ambient/internal temp as 233. Am I missing something? I have the latest firmware, did the seasoning, etc. One other bit of information...I was intending to use the Traeger probe that came with the grill. Unfortunately, the probe is not working as it is registering incorrect temps as well. I did calibrate the probe several times but it is displaying temps that are 30-40 degress off the temperature of the meat. I called customer support and they are sending a new internal probe.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Hi cabchop

My understanding is that the Traeger probes cannot be trusted. Assuming that's correct I'd suggest you use the meater probe to measure the ambient temp and adjust your grill accordingly.

Hi Pogo007

Thanks for the reply. I'll keep playing around with it and report back. FWIW, I have been very impressed with the meater probes and will probably take your advice. Thanks again.