What Traeger To Purchase

PJK

Reaction score
Grill
Pro 22
I am new to pellet grills and am looking for some advice. I am planning on using the Traeger for smoking more than anything. I have a family of 4 so I don’t need a huge sized smoker. I like in Michigan where we have cold winter for 4 months. I was looking at Pro 22 with a blanket to use all winter. Is this a good choice or is there a better option without spending too much money?

Thanks!

I would spend more money and get at least get a Pro575 or Pro780. The wifi control option is really handy.

Is have the Wi-Fi the only difference or are the controls different too?
The entire controller is different. I'm not an expert by any means, but it's a very entry level Traeger and it comes with entry level issues.

The temp accuracy will be better on the Pro 575 / 780 since they use a more sophisticated controller. I also like to be able to check and change temp from the comfort of my favorite chair. That said, you will also want to get some accessories to go along with the grill so keep that in mind when working on your budget.

It is kinda a tough question to answer because you need to balance how much you're willing (and able) to spend vs. your expectations. For example, if you spend $500 to stay within budget and aren't happy but spend $700 and are very happy, then going a little over budget is probably a good thing in the long run (just made up numbers of course).

A few things to keep in mind when looking at a pellet grill in general, and Traeger in specific:
- Pellet grills aren't "smokers" in the sense that you'll get the same smoke flavor from say an off-set smoker. Many people who want more smoke use things like a smoke tube (very cheap on Amazon)
- Traeger temp probes are notoriously inaccurate so you will want to consider a good 3rd party temp probe. Many of us here use Fire Bird 2, Ink Bird or Thermaworks.
- Get a good quick read thermometer. You'll use this a LOT.