Traeger Cooking temps

Atl_Buckeye

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Texas Elite 34
I am new to Traeger and see that their is a lot of discussion/complaining about temps. I am not new to smoking and every cooking method seems to have their own issues with temps. For example, the old electric smokers would vary wildly depending on if the element was on or not which made a consistent temp impossible and similar to Traeger, the big green egg dome temp is different than grate temps.

So, when people here are talking about temps. Are they refering to the temp set on the controller? Or do most people use a probe mounted to the grate (pit temp)? I was playing around last night and see that these temps are different by 25-50 deg. I just want to be sure that if I'm following some recipes from here I am understanding temps that are being talked about

The concerns about inaccurate temperatures are specific to the new Pro 575 and 780 grills. In these cases the temperature reported by the controller is 50-100 deg higher than what people measure using independent probes inside the grill. The differences seem to vary with temperature, with the worst effect perhaps being that at the highest setting on the controller (450 deg), the grill can only reach about 375-390. But overall it makes it difficult to figure out what to set the controller at to get the desired cooking temp. The Ironwood series got a firmware update that fixed what seemed to be a similar problem that existed there early on. I think if Traeger wouldn't advertise a +/- 5 deg stability on these new grills with a "set and forget" claim, people might not be so upset. Traeger also does not admit there is really a problem but hopefully they are working on it behind the scenes and a software fix is in these grills' future.