No Smoke Flavor

Mimi

Reaction score
Grill
Hello! I am still a beginner smoker. I own the Traeger 780. I have cooked several different meats. I do not taste any “smoke” flavor at all. Yes I cook low as slow for hours upon hours. I’m not getting it. Any suggestions?

Try using a smoke tube. You can find plenty on Amazon for under $20.

Also, what type of pelleted are you using?

Try a smoke tube, but use wood chips instead of pellets. You'll get the smokey flavor you are looking for. I use 2 smoke tubes , and pack them down with a steel rod so they will last 3 - 4 hours. You can add just a few pellets to fill in the gaps. Light the open end of the tube with a torch and let it burn 10 minutes, then put it in the smoker. I put one at each end with my downdraft model.

The lack of smoke flavor is due to the wood pellets being made of compressed sawdust. It's not the same as actual wood smoking. The wood chips are an excellent hack to achieve a similar smoke flavor to BBQ from a good smokehouse joint.

Hope this helps! Good Smokin' today!! Merry Christmas!

Hit the search bar upper right and type "smoke tube"

I got two smoke tubes this morning and looking forward to trying them out!!

Try using a smoke tube. You can find plenty on Amazon for under $20.

Also, what type of pelleted are you using?
I think someone tubes are little overwhelming. Besides, when you pay $$$$ for a “smoker” we shouldn’t need a tube.

Try a smoke tube, but use wood chips instead of pellets. You'll get the smokey flavor you are looking for. I use 2 smoke tubes , and pack them down with a steel rod so they will last 3 - 4 hours. You can add just a few pellets to fill in the gaps. Light the open end of the tube with a torch and let it burn 10 minutes, then put it in the smoker. I put one at each end with my downdraft model.