Newbie questions about older Traeger

jablase

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Lil' Tex Elite (BBQ07E)
I just became the new owner of an older (made in USA) Traeger, thanks to a great deal on FB Marketplace. That said, I am new to Traeger and pellet grilling, and the grill comes to me with a small list of issues that require some help to resolve.

1) The grill currently does not have its legs. Previous owner did not have then, so I will need to purchase them. Other than it being an older grill, I do not know what parts to search for and the label inside the hopper is faded and I cannot read the model number. Thoughts on the best/cheapest place to source older model legs or aftermarket equivalents?

2) The previous owner tells me the controller doesn't work. I haven't begun troubleshooting as of yet, but if it is failed, what is the best replacement controller that will work with this and not break the bank? Anyone have experience with an off-brand controller that they'd recommend? I've seen a few on Amazon with WiFi but don't want to buy just any controller as I know this is the brains that makes the magic possible.

3) Any mods folks can recommend to help improve the grilling/smoking experience? I've seen YouTube videos about adding a seal for the lid and plan to do that, but am open to any other suggestions as well.

thanks for your time. Looking forward to rescuing this one and having my own "Traeger experience"!

Sorry. Was at work. Here's a couple photos.
Traeger lid closed.jpg

Attachments

• Traeger lid open.jpg
    Traeger lid open.jpg
    100.4 KB · Views: 60
  • Traeger label.jpg
    Traeger label.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 63
I would almost bet, that for the cost to make that usable, you could almost buy a new one.

Try sending the photo to Traeger CS they should be able to tell you what model you have...

Try sending the photo to Traeger CS they should be able to tell you what model you have...