New to pellet smokers

Curly Kroeger

Reaction score
Grill
Pro575
I'm new to the pellet smoker. Been using a BGE. My Traeger was properly seasoned, i think. I'm reading of wide temperature swings on what the grill is actually experiencing versus what the control panel indicates. Should i re-season using a higher temp to compensate for the likely 20-25 degree discrepancy?

Also when i did my first cook i did not see much smoke coming from the stack or when i opened the grill to check from that perspective. I did not open the grill much because i know and believe the adege of "if you're lookin you aint cooking". The smoke flavor just didnt seem to be there. I was smoking a pork tenderloin. Help the newbi please.

Old BGE owner here. I've shifted over to Traegers simply because of convenience. Pork Tenderloins are a very lean cut of meat and need to be cooked HOT & FAST.

Set your Traeger to 375/400 and cook it for about 30 minutes. Turn it over at 20 minutes and pull it from the grill at 140 degrees internal and let it rest till it comes up to 145 degrees before slicing and serving.

Traegers do a great job on pork tenderloins and pork loins.

Welcome to the Traeger world.

I'm new to the pellet smoker. Been using a BGE. My Traeger was properly seasoned, i think. I'm reading of wide temperature swings on what the grill is actually experiencing versus what the control panel indicates. Should i re-season using a higher temp to compensate for the likely 20-25 degree discrepancy?

Also when i did my first cook i did not see much smoke coming from the stack or when i opened the grill to check from that perspective. I did not open the grill much because i know and believe the adege of "if you're lookin you aint cooking". The smoke flavor just didnt seem to be there. I was smoking a pork tenderloin. Help the newbi please.
Welcome to the Forum!
It’s amazing how many people on here share a wealth of information.