Few Issues with my tailgater

jonathan1683

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Traeger Tailgater
Hello,
I am kind of new to this. I got a tailgater not too long ago, and I always seem to run into technical issues using it. Here are a few:
  1. Temperature fluctuations: I can set the unit to 390, and it will heat up to 430. Is this normal?
  2. Things seem to cook too fast compared to the directions on the Traeger site.
  3. I have had smoke coming through the hopper on multiple occasions.
  4. Sometimes, when starting up, the whole backyard fills with smoke. I don't think this is normal, but I could be wrong.
  5. The auger makes groaning and clanking noises while turning. I'm not sure if this is normal, but it seems to be working ok.
Yesterday, the grill stopped working, and smoke started coming from the hopper. I ended up finishing my wings on my other grill instead and read some troubleshooting tips. I cleaned out the whole unit and vacuumed everything, including the auger. I cleared it out and trashed all the pellets because they looked weird. After that, I ran the auger prime again since it was empty, and it would not stop putting pellets in the bowl. It completely filled the bowl and wouldn't stop on its own. That's kind of where I am at right now, as I gave up for now since it's late. I have only used the grill like 5 times total, so it's not like it's old and breaking down (I think). Does anyone have any ideas what could be causing all these issues? I am getting very discouraged with it as it's always a hassle, kind of the opposite of what I thought it would be like. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thank you,
IMG_0352.jpg

I was thinking you had to stop the prime auger profess manually, no? It’s been a long time since I’ve done so though so maybe not.

I think you have to select done manually once they start to fall in.