CAN NOT OBTAIN A SMOKE RING ON MY BRISKET

Media
Reaction score
Grill
Ironwood 885, Offset Smokers, Weber Grill

Hello everyone and thank you for helping me out here.
I have been cooking briskets for many years on my offset smoker.
I do a lot if cooking for the church and have cooked as many as 14 briskets at one time and have never had a problem with obtaining a smoke ring.
I purchased my new Traeger Ironwood 885 in May 2021 and since then I have cooked 4 briskets.
The reason I purchased a Traeger is that I needed something a little bit more easy on my body as cooking for 12- 15 hours would just wear me out.
I have tried everything (Water Pan, Super Smoke at 210 degrees, prepping my brisket the night before and place it cold inside the Traeger, Very light on the Rub, Using Traeger Oak or Hickory Pellets))

Any advice would be great please as I miss not seeing the smoke ring and more of the smoky flavor in my brisket

Thank you
David

Hello everyone and thank you for helping me out here.
I have been cooking briskets for many years on my offset smoker.
I do a lot if cooking for the church and have cooked as many as 14 briskets at one time and have never had a problem with obtaining a smoke ring.
I purchased my new Traeger Ironwood 885 in May 2021 and since then I have cooked 4 briskets.
The reason I purchased a Traeger is that I needed something a little bit more easy on my body as cooking for 12- 15 hours would just wear me out.
I have tried everything (Water Pan, Super Smoke at 210 degrees, prepping my brisket the night before and place it cold inside the Traeger, Very light on the Rub, Using Traeger Oak or Hickory Pellets))

Any advice would be great please as I miss not seeing the smoke ring and more of the smoky flavor in my brisket

Thank you
David
Meat side up or down?

That’s part of the reason right there, Meat Church YouTube recently did a brisket series going over fat side up vs down and they explain how it affects the smoke ring.